Digital Book Day – some thoughts

So I set my collection of SF & fantasy stories, The Dragon, Fly, to be free on Digital Book Day, July 14th. I gave away 260 copies, and had over 200 visitors to this blog, which was nice.

Pros:

My book got into the Top 10 Free SF Anthologies list, so it hopefully got some useful exposure.

I got lots of new readers, who may like my stuff and want more. I might even get an Amazon review out of it.

I’ve sold a few books since.

Cons:

When I first put my books on Kindle, a free book promotion would push you up the rankings and keep you there for a while. Now they’ve altered the algorithms and a book quickly crashes back down into obscurity after its brief moment in the sun. I’m not sure that giveaways are much help anymore.

The book has now turned up on at least one pirate site.

Overall conclusion:

I think the results of Digital Book Day were generally positive and I’ll probably take part again next year.

Leave a Reply

