Have Yourself A Very Merry Solstice

I don’t really do Xmas. When I was at the lab I was always annoyed by all the smug crowing of those who weren’t working between Xmas Eve and January 2nd, while we were lucky to get Xmas Day and Boxing Day off (and some of us didn’t, having to go in to tend the bugs or provide on-call cover). I don’t respond well to the constant demands to be jolly and spend, spend, spend. This year I sent out a few cards, bought a few presents and replaced the dead fern in the bathroom with an attractive mottled Poinsettia. In keeping with my Pagan beliefs, I do indulge in some festive eating and drinking, although Xmas dinner will be a quiet affair, and a sad reminder of family members missing from the table.

So, to all my readers, do have a very happy Xmas or Solstice or whatever seasonal event you choose to celebrate, and may good fortune fly with you in the New Year.

As a Solstice gift to all of you, I’ve changed the excerpt on the Warbird page to Chapter Ten of the lengthy space-opera, the bit where the crew of the Vienna have a first contact with a non-humanoid race. Please enjoy!

Leave a Reply

